#AtoZChallenge C is for Constance


by Lillian Csernica on April 3, 2018

vict5

artfullymusing.blogspot.com

Constance Harrington, nee Dawson, is the wife of Dr. William Harrington. Constance is the epitome of the Victorian “angel in the house,” devoted to being the perfect wife and mother. She does quite well at it, then duty demands she follow her husband all the way to Japan.

Poor Constance. I’ve given her a bad case of culture shock. Through her confusion and distress I can portray the attitudes and values of Victorian England toward the mysteries of the Far East. I can also have Constance ask the questions that will keep the reader informed and understanding the story as it unfolds.

Constance has every intention of raising Madelaine to be a proper Victorian young lady. Madelaine, who takes to Japan like a duck to water, has other priorities. The humor inherent in this battle made Blown Sky High (Thirty Days Later) a lot of fun to write.

fb99bc452386e67a4027e37950e1a3ed

pinterest.com

 

 

 

17 Comments

Filed under #atozchallenge, Blog challenges, doctors, fantasy, Fiction, historical fiction, Japan, Kyoto, legend, Lillian Csernica, steampunk, travel, Writing

17 responses to “#AtoZChallenge C is for Constance

  1. Interesting, thank you, Lilian. Well, the time when the woman was but a dutiful follower. Part of me is glad Madeline had other priorities. Lovely post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fish out of water stories always appeal to me = been there, done that! And yes, it does provide a natural way to explain things for the reader as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It might just be my impression, but I think Victorian people had a particularly hard time adapting to different cultures.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think you’re right. The question in my mind is, was it just a lack of adaptability, or was it a deliberate refusal due to the assumption of superiority? “The sun never sets on the British Empire” and all that.

      Like

      • Hard to say. But it’s possible that it was a bit of both. I have this feeling that – being an insulated culture – the culture of the British Islands have alwasy had more difficutlures coping with the ‘other’ than most of the other European culutres have had.
        But it may just be my impression.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: #atozchallenge: J is for Julie Rose | Hopes and Dreams: My Writing and My Sons

  5. Pingback: #atozchallenge: M is for Madelaine | Hopes and Dreams: My Writing and My Sons

  6. Pingback: #atozchallenge: L is for Loyalty | Hopes and Dreams: My Writing and My Sons

  7. Pingback: #AtoZChallenge: D is for Danger | Hopes and Dreams: My Writing and My Sons

  8. Pingback: #atozchallenge G is for Garden Party | Hopes and Dreams: My Writing and My Sons

  9. Pingback: #atozchallenge: O is for Olivia Danforth | Hopes and Dreams: My Writing and My Sons

  10. Pingback: #atozchallenge: R is for Rokurokubi | Hopes and Dreams: My Writing and My Sons

  11. Pingback: #atozchallenge: U is for Unseen | Hopes and Dreams: My Writing and My Sons

  12. Pingback: #atozchallenge: W is for William Harrington | Hopes and Dreams: My Writing and My Sons

  13. Pingback: How To Edit My NaNoWriMo Roughdraft? | Hopes and Dreams: My Writing and My Sons

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.