X for Xena, Warrior Princess


by Lillian Csernica on April 28, 2015

http://www.amazon.com

Yes, this is a TV series, not a movie, but how could I possibly leave Xena off this list?  Xena, Warrior Princess is a spin-off of Hercules: The Legendary Journeys.  Xena got better ratings than Hercules and went on to become far more popular.  Xena continues to enjoy a huge fan base.  I haven’t watched every single episode, but I have watched enough to know the stunts on this show are entertaining, the scripts are good, and the wardrobe staff had a great sense of humor.

pixshark.com

From imdb.com:

Xena, a mighty Warrior Princess with a dark past, sets out to redeem herself. She is joined by small town bard, Gabrielle. Together they journey the ancient world and fight for the greater good against ruthless Warlords and Gods.

imgbuddy.com

Renee O’Connor as Gabrielle

http://www.yourprops.com

Xena’s weapons: a sword, a whip, and the Fatal Frisbees

http://www.fanpop.com

Kevin Tod Smith as Ares, God of War

Hercules has to keep fighting anything and everything the goddess Hera sends against him.  Xena has a love/hate relationship with Ares, God of War.  He makes frequent appearances in the series.

http://www.ign.com

Bruce Campbell as Autolycus, King of Thieves

If I have a favorite character in the series, it’s the agile and witty Autolycus.  I’ve been a Bruce Campbell fan for a long time now, ever since Army of Darkness.

hercxena.wikia.com

Then there’s Callisto.  More than one bad sword & sorcery movie has started off with the hero suffering through the trauma of seeing his family slain and his village burned to the ground.  Callisto is what happens when that suffering and trauma leave you a violent, bloodthirsty headcase.  If she wasn’t when she started out, she would have been by the end of the series, given everything that happens to her character.  Actress Hudson Leick must have had a real workout!

If I have any complaints about Xena, I’d have to say that there are times when the situations run to the corny or melodramatic.  Once in a while the “What lesson have we learned in this episode?” stuff gets to be a little much.  Still, that is a minor complaint.  With plenty of eye candy and action, Xena: Warrior Princess is worth watching.

http://www.flight-toys.com

14 Comments

Filed under bad movies, Blog challenges, classics, Conventions, fantasy

14 responses to “X for Xena, Warrior Princess

  1. Still in mourning for Kevin Smith…what a hunk. What a loss.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve never followed this series, but I know a lot about it because a friend of mine was a huge fan at a certain point. I think she still is, even if not at the same level as a few years ago.

    I remember watching an episode with my friend where Callisto appeared, and she was – if I remember – posessed by Xena’s personality. I found it wicked how the acress imitated Xena’s actress’s moves and characteristics.
    I found it was a good one 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Came across your blog through the A to Z Challenge – only one more letter to post now (as today is Y) – these last three letters are so tricky if you are doing a theme, don’t you think? Never really got into Xena – more of an X-files type of gal 🙂 My A to Z is at pempispalace.blogspot.com if you want to take a look – with a special education theme mixed with craft!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I loved watching this series and actually wrote about it for my last year’s A to Z “X” post. (http://lorilmaclaughlin.com/2014/04/28/a-to-z-challenge-fictional-favorites-day-24/) The only thing I didn’t like about it was the weird Gabrielle/demon spawn subplot. And the singing episode was a bit strange. Loved all the swordplay, though, and the quirky supporting characters like Autolycus.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love Bruce Campbell. Did you ever see him in the short-lived Jack of All Trades? Cheesy show, but he was as fun as always. I did watch some Xena but didn’t end up seeing much of it. It’s one of those shows that I want to catch up on. 🙂

    Like

  6. Alex Hurst

    Xena! And her war cry! I loved this show. I need to try and watch it again. 🙂 I grew up feeling like Gabrielle.

    Like

  7. Post-April catch-up visitation: have to admit to being a Xena fan having watched most of the episodes, and those of Hercules, religiously – does that make me Greek?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.