Breaking up with Ben & Jerry


by Lillian Csernica on January 18, 2017

e2acd04443cb55ae9eb30d097860db7a

Tonight I consumed my last pint of Ben & Jerry’s Karamel Sutra.

Tomorrow morning I begin a medically supervised accelerated weight loss program.

When I was ten years old, my parents took me to see a dietician. I was already 5’6″, and already 152 lbs. Not good. Now I’m forty years older and 100 lbs heavier. Time to stop kidding myself about the health problems that are right around the corner if I don’t do something about my weight problem RIGHT NOW.

This is not a New Year’s Resolution. This is me deciding to act like a grown-up and stop indulging myself while blaming the depression, the difficulty of my life, some writing setback, or whatever other chaos afflicts me at that moment.

b765c79ce5ad6a8523df001513b7dca8

I have a plan. I have professionals backing me. I have a guidebook and a journal and a food scale and the necessary supplements. I’m going to do this.

There are so many stories waiting to be written.

There are so many birthdays and Christmases and personal triumphs ahead for both Michael and John.

There are so many places in the world I have yet to see, just in Japan alone!

There may be setbacks. That’s OK. I know how to deal with setbacks. You just take a deep breath, focus on the next indicated action, and start moving forward again.

I can do this. I will do this. For me, for the kids, for my writing.

a714b166fda7331716fabffba120ca75

2 Comments

Filed under chocolate, Christmas, Conventions, Depression, doctors, editing, Family, fantasy, Fiction, Food, frustration, Goals, Japan, Lillian Csernica, parenting, perspective, publication, research, Self-image, special education, therapy, Writing

2 responses to “Breaking up with Ben & Jerry

  1. It was Cherry Garcia for me. So hard to say goodbye, but now I find I don’t even miss it. I do let myself have some chocolate from time to time, but not all that much, and the craving is gone. A lot of what’s involved is breaking old habits and building new ones. DO reach out for support, any time, because serious weight loss ain’t ever just about food. Now, go get ’em, tiger Lil!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

