Time To Say Goodbye


by Lillian Csernica on December 8, 2016

c32da2518afbc25c9267905c8eae4173

One of my favorite people is dying.

He and I have been friends for about eight years now. We’ve been in two different writers’ groups together. He writes nonfiction, a memoir of his Navy days. We’ve gone out to brunch together a number of times, and we have a few treasured in-jokes.

It’s very hard to see him and know these are his last days.

As soon as I heard he was in the hospital, I hurried over there yesterday. Fortunately, my friend was awake and aware, so we had a brief conversation. His brother and his four children were on hand, so I didn’t stay long. After I left my friend’s hospital room, I found a private corner and sat there crying for a while.

Today I stopped by the hospital. My friend’s wife and one of their sons were about to take him home. It’s time for hospice care. I don’t know how I managed to keep it together until I got out to the parking lot.

I wanted to write all kinds of profound things here about my friend, his life, and our time together. Yesterday I was in shock. Today I’m so sad.

I love you, Art. For however many days you have left, and for every day after that.

40fec431f5a3600707cfb34cf2788c44

4 Comments

Filed under Family, Fiction, frustration, hospital, Lillian Csernica, memoirs, perspective, worry, Writing

4 responses to “Time To Say Goodbye

  1. Hard as this is, I’m glad you have a chance to say goodbye. And I’m he’ll turn up in your fiction at some point. The best people do…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My thoughts are with you during this difficult time, Lillian.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

