How to Squeeze More Words Out of A Tired Brain


by Lillian Csernica on November 6, 2016

3da74cf4e657e8fc5abcab9ba80f04c6

I’m sitting here yawning. Yesterday I left the house at 11:30 a.m. and didn’t get home until around 10 p.m. That means ten and a half hours. I spent three of those hours driving.

When I finally staggered up the stairway to my office and dropped my bags, I realized I had 90 minutes to get the day’s NaNoWriMo quota done. At midnight, that’s it. You’ve either written that day or you haven’t.

You know how your car engine sounds when you turn the key and the engine tries to turn over, but it just won’t catch? Yeah. That’s the sound my brain was making.

stock-vector-sick-brain-use-light-bulb-saline-bag-vector-illustration-flat-and-minimal-design-need-idea-223263931

I was a bit ahead of the minimum total word count for Day 5, so I was strongly tempted to just let it ride for one day. No no no. I’d signed up for NaNoWriMo, so I’d made the commitment to write every single day in November. Every. Single. Day.

I did cut myself some slack. Make it to the ten thousand word mark, I told myself. Write that much, and you’re off the hook. That meant three pages, or 750 words.

Great. Now what? <sound  of car engine failing to turn over>

32233529-creative-thinking

At times like this I brainstorm. I write down every horrible thing that I could possibly do to my characters. It doesn’t have to make sense, really, it just has to be possible within the story content already established. If all goes well, inspiration will strike, the engine of my imagination will turn over, and the writing flows.

Want some specific examples of how I torture my characters and get the day’s writing done? I’m happy to share.

540_293_resize_20130201_b4753a03bc6881e6e425640c2f5ba5ed_jpg

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under artists, creativity, fantasy, Fiction, frustration, Goals, Lillian Csernica, publication, research, Writing

One response to “How to Squeeze More Words Out of A Tired Brain

  1. You outdid me…I only managed another 156 words before crapping out entirely!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

