Writers Have Been Believing This Lie for Decades…


I am suffering working through the latest edit of Sword Master, Flower Maiden. These words of wisdom bring me comfort. I hope they’ll do the same for you.

adoptingjames

mt-everest-sunset-1200x675

Editing. It’s often seen as the summit of the mountain after a long, tumultuous climb, complete with hand-cramps and carpal tunnel.

I have a different picture in my head. Writing, as hard as it is, is more like the packing and driving toward the first day of your climb. Writing is gathering all of your equipment, literally dotting your I’s and crossing your T’s, all the busy work. None of it’s in order, and half the time you don’t even know what the hell you’re writing. You’re just…writing.

But then you reach the last page, your last paragraph, your last word. You think you’re done. The world tells you, “You did it!” You get all sorts of accolades, you’re blinded by the paparazzi, and angels blow on trumpets as the opposite sex throws themselves at you.

But that’s a bunch of bull. I finished my YA novel back in February and I’ve…

View original post 255 more words

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Writers Have Been Believing This Lie for Decades…

  1. It’s the rewrites that make it sing. And it has to sing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

