The Greatest Job I’ve Ever Had


by Lillian Csernica on September 17, 2016

bellydancejob2

Yes, that’s me. Granted, I was all of eighteen.

Once upon a time, I worked as a Turkish-Moroccan belly dancer. My teacher was a delightful lady from Zaragoza, Spain. I had a genuine, 100% authentic coin belt made by a  man from Turkey. The belt had 144 diamond-shaped metal coins stamped with the image of Venus on the Half-Shell.

avshell

I performed in my high school talent show. The audience actually threw money at the stage. That in itself was funny. Then the stagehands gathered it all up and brought it to me backstage!

My teacher often took me with her when she’d been hired for a party. During the holiday season, we appeared as part of a steady stream of entertainers at a bachelor party. Just one piece of art on the walls in that house could have put me through college. That was the night I got the biggest tip I’d ever received. Some generous soul stuffed a $10 bill down the back of my coin belt!

Ah, the places I’ve been and the things that I’ve seen….

bellydancer

10 Comments

Filed under artists, birthday, charity, cosplay, fantasy, Lillian Csernica, memoirs, Small business, travel

10 responses to “The Greatest Job I’ve Ever Had

  1. You’re bolder than I am!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I took both Moroccan and American belly dancing lessons back in the proverbial day. It was a lot of fun. Thanks so much for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Fantastic memories.
    Hey, Lillian, I envy you. I’vve always wanted to learn how to belly dance 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. act_on_love

    I love this story, and what a gorgeous photo! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Nice pic, Lillian, very cheeky. I was hired to do some saucy dancing at the local old people’s home and I also had £10 stuffed into my underpants. Unfortunately it was all in 2p coins. It took me an hour to limp home.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

