W is for Waiting


by Lillian Csernica on April 27, 2016

 

Oiran.jpg

Waiting for the oiran parade at Toei Kyoto Studio Park and talking to the little old Japanese gentleman.  The one question he asked me in Japanese that I clearly understood was what kind of Japanese food I like to eat.  Figures, doesn’t it?  😀

les_folies_bergere_paris_large

Waiting during the intermission at the Folies Bergere.  I bought a can of Coke to drink while I stood there in the lobby watching people go by.  I was a trifle stunned by the show.  The great advantage of being alone while you travel is not having to worry about your mother finding out what you’ve been up to while you were away!

storm-tropical-island-3608839

 

Waiting to see if the rain in Maui would let up enough for Mom and me to go on the submarine ride.  So many tourists on the island were so angry, so upset by their plans being cancelled.  It was a bad day to be in the hospitality industry.  To me it was still an adventure, a tropical storm with the palm trees bending way over just like in so many movies I’d seen.

465524992

Waiting to see if Pat and I would find a gas station before we ran out of gas miles from anywhere in the dark.  I’ve experienced this particular wait more than once.  All I can do is cross my fingers and pray.  We’ve never been stranded by the side of the road.  Well, not yet, anyway!

stock-illustration-5456613-driving-vector

Waiting to see if I really could drive all the way to Fremont.  Then all the way to Stockton.  Then all the way to Seattle!  This wasn’t the usual kind of wait, given that I was driving at the time.  That part of my mind that’s always hanging back and observing was doing the waiting.  When I’m alone in the car I tend to talk to myself while I drive.  I hope anybody who notices thinks I’m singing along with the radio.

11664576-imagination-city-vector-illustration-stock-vector

Waiting to see if my destination would measure up to my imagination!

7 Comments

Filed under artists, Blog challenges, creativity, Family, Goals, history, Japan, Kyoto, Lillian Csernica, memoirs, mother, nature, research, travel, Writing

7 responses to “W is for Waiting

  1. greyzoned/angelsbark

    Great post Lillian. I too have done the waiting game on a long stretch of highway late at night with no exit in sight and my gas guage edging quickly toward E. OMG, that was so scary. I finally came to an exit and found a gas station that was just closing for the night. Whew! I don’t know what I would’ve done had I run out of gas…
    Love the last graphic (waiting to see if your destination matches up with your imagination). That’s so … wonderfully colorful!

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve only actually run out of gas on the highway once, and yes, it was after dark. Thank God for AAA is all I can say!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

