V is for View


by Lillian Csernica on April 26, 2016

One of the best parts of travel is just standing there and looking at the view.  There’s so much to see, so many details, so many shades of color and meaning.

 

Cliffs along the California coast

Born and raised here, I am a California native.  When life gets me down, I go to the seashore and let the power of the elements make me feel better.

nc_duncanscove_seeff_1280x642_sized_downsized

 

Cypress veranda at Kiyomizudera

My #1 Bucket List item, accomplished.  This very spot is the setting for “A Demon in the Noonday Sun,” one of two stories I contributed to 12 Hours Later.  The view is truly spectacular in every season of the year.

2015-10-25 21.40.46

 

The Rose Window in Notre Dame Cathedral

There I was, standing in Notre Dame on a Sunday.  The clouds of incense were so thick it was like trying to see the window through fog.  Glorious.  There’s no other word for it.

rose-window-stained-glass-window-notre-dame-de-paris-cathedral-ille-ec1x8r

 

Fishing off the Four Mile Banks in Laguna Beach, CA

When I was in high school, my father and his friends from work would sometimes charter a boat to take them out fishing down by Laguna.  Dad took me with him.  The captain of the charter liked me because he thought I was good luck.  I always caught the first fish.

1388759719000-hi-graphic-images-cd-2-079

Carlsbad Caverns

There’s a whole lot to see on the surface of our planet, but don’t forget to take a look at what’s waiting under that very surface.  When I was a little kid, my parents took our family to see the Carlsbad Caverns. Scared the daylights out of me then, especially when the bats woke up.  Now I can appreciate the beauty and wonder of the rock formations.

day-6

rootsrated.com

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Blog challenges, Family, Goals, history, Lillian Csernica, memoirs, nature, travel, Writing

2 responses to “V is for View

  1. One of the views that struck me most was the one from the top of the Wallace Monument in Stirling, Scotland…you could look down from the heights and point at the places where battles were fought and history changed…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

