A is for Amsterdam


by Lillian Csernica on April 1, 2016

 

When I was 18 years old, my father sent me to the Netherlands to spend the summer with Jennet, the AFS exchange student who had been my lab partner in Physics and my good friend.  She lived in Enschede, on the east side of the country, so when we decided on a day trip to Amsterdam by train, we were in for quite an adventure.

Amsterdam is one of the greatest cities of the world.  Everywhere I turned, there was something new and fascinating waiting for me.

place-2014-12-11-6-amsterdamcanals168cce0bec18ddf13bd54d6f789aac21

For someone used to the concrete vistas of Orange County, I was delighted to travel around the city via the canals.  The private boats hitched off to either side of the canals provided a genuine local charm to the areas I passed through.

1164197185

www.holidaycheck.de

 If you like flowers, then you haven’t lived until you’ve seen the floating flower market in Amsterdam.  All the tulips you can imagine, plus a whole lot more!
 89747d1231965574-ultimate-cop-cars-police-cars-around-world-police-amsterdam-horse
 Amsterdam was the first place where I saw police officers patrolling their beats on horseback.  The two officers I spoke to were quite friendly and allowed me to take their photograph.  There’s something very imposing about a police officer looking down at you from that height!

 

00007715-original-souvenir-from-holland-netherlands-amsterdam-house

www.world-wide-gifts.com

 There are a lot of sex shops in Amsterdam.  As a know-almost-nothing 18 year old, this freaked me out.  What you see here is a resin refrigerator magnet.  Looks like a cookie, doesn’t it?  This was the only image I could possibly post here that wouldn’t get me busted for Adult Content.  If you care to Google the amazing range of possibilities available to you in such a shop, have a good time.  Just don’t say I didn’t warn you! 😀

 

 

 

 

17 Comments

Filed under Blog challenges, history, Lillian Csernica, memoirs, travel, Writing

17 responses to “A is for Amsterdam

  1. Fantastic! I’ve never visited Amsterdam, but I’ve Always heard good things abotu that city. NIce place to visit.
    Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Lovely photos Lillian and yes you got me there – I thought the fridge magnet was a cookie. Good luck with the A-Z! Great start!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The flowers were amazing! It makes going in Spring so worth it just to see them. A nice start for the A to Z Challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. LOL – I remember being shocked (understatement) in one of those shops in Amsterdam. Great start to AtoZ. My 15 year old daughter is currently an AFS exchange student. She is in Argentina. (Maybe that should have been my A 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. katdennison

    Amsterdam was never on my short list of places to visit but I may have to put it on there!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. So much history in Amsterdam…I’d love to see their churches.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Amsterdam is very nice 🙂
    I’m glad someone had the courage to do cities for A-Z because I didn’t. I’ve never been to a place that starts with an X…
    http://thethreegerbers.blogspot.ch/

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thank you for sharing. I look forward to reading about your adventures 😃

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

