Norwescon Day Two


Lillian Csernica on March 25, 2016

nwc-leaderboard-728x90

Slept late.  What a luxury!  There was a time when I’d stay up far too late, either roaming the room parties or hanging out somewhere talking with a group of friends.  Now that I’m older and (somewhat) wiser, I know the value of a good night’s sleep.

dolphin-glitter-picture-22213530-256-157

There’s a programming track for kids that includes arts & crafts.  I’d been hoping the Decorate-a-T shirt make-n-take would allow me to create a customized souvenir for Michael or John.  There were no shirts big enough for the boys, but that was OK.  I came up with an idea for a pillow.  A medium shirt with 3 sets of sparkly blue dolphins leaping out of the waves should turn into a fun reminder of this con.

51nevhwwt4l-_sx311_bo1204203200_

During the T shirt workshop I got to talking with three young ladies who enjoy horror.  I brought a copy of  Typhon with me.  When I showed it to them, one of the girls pounced on it with the kind of enthusiasm that brings serious joy to a writer’s heart.  They bought it, complete with autograph and gold foil Autographed Copy sticker.

coke-coke-31739294-270-270

I’ve been drinking Coke today.  Shame on me, but I need the caffeine.

bohemian-wedding-bridal-bridel-cream-flower-lace-teardrop-beads-pearl-hand-jewelry-bracelet_200x200

Make a Superhero Mask!  Yes, I went and hung out with the kids again.  No, I do not have a photo of my mask to show you.  I left that particular USB cable at home with my Kindle.  I am now the Bride of Cthulu!  The mask base is white plastic with the usual elastic string around the back.  I took a piece of lace meant to jazz up a wedding gown and glued it to the temples and the bridge of the nose. That way the point of the triangle, so to speak, hung down over the mouth, dangling pearl teardrops like really classy tentacles.  More pearls and some golden sunburst sequins across the forehead added the right amount of sparkle.

What’s my superhero name?  What’s my superpower?  You tell me!  I’m looking for inspiration!

34ba74838457b6d8ebf502dc4061c1f6

While I was making my way back through the hallways to the main lobby area, I happened across a jeweler selling marvelous steampunk items at bargain basement prices.  Bought John a glow in the dark star necklace with the word ZAP! on it in a red explosion, just like one of the sound effects on the old “Batman” TV series from the 1960s.  Better still, it glows in the dark!

5178180704_27ec99700d_m

The dinner menu in the Hospitality Suite included hot dogs, chili, and chips with guacamole.  Pat and I shared a table with T-Bone, the Saturday night DJ.  He told us a very weird story he called “A Tale of Bamboozlement.”  I told him one of my stranger Ren Faire adventures.  Pat told us a of peculiar incident that happened while she was working for the Stockton Police Department.  Now this is what I call live entertainment!

canstock16264299

Around 9 p.m. I went back up to our room to drop off my tote bags, shopping bags, and some art Pat bought from the Tarot of Brass & Steam booth.  In the hallway outside our hotel room were people with Magic: The Gathering decks.  There were also people wearing Viking-type clothing.  Two doors down a pumpkin beer party was underway, put on by a group of historical re-enactment folks who enjoy Viking lore.  Somebody lent me a helmet that looked like the upper half of a pumpkin with the mandatory two horns sticking out of it.  Now that I met the dress code, I hung out at the party for a good hour, sampling three or four remarkable brews from Seattle micro-breweries.  I do mean samples, given out in the little plastic cups often used by Mexican restaurants for servings of pico de gallo.  I rarely drink, but when I do, I do it for a good cause.  This was a good cause!

LTKqpnATa

Parties are raging here in Wing 5.  I can hear the multitudes out in the hallway whooping it up.  I should get on out there and see what other adventures await me!

Party

1 Comment

Filed under Conventions, creativity, Family, fantasy, Fiction, Humor, Lillian Csernica, science fiction, steampunk, travel, Writing

One response to “Norwescon Day Two

  1. Pingback: D is for Drinkable | Hopes and Dreams: My Writing and My Sons

Leave a Reply

