Reviews: Good News vs Bad News Part Two


by Lillian Csernica on January 31, 2016

1424205-5840_royalty_free_clip_art_surprised_brain_cartoon_character_reading_a_book_with_question_mark

I’m still mulling over the pros and cons of writing reviews on Amazon, Goodreads, et al.  While I was wandering around the Web today, I came across a blog that talks about how to get our books reviewed.  There’s a lot of info here, and much food for thought.

How to Get Reviews for Your Book (Without Begging, Bribing, or Subterfuge)

I’m leaning toward not reviewing that book I mentioned in Part One.  Given that there’s close to a dozen more books in the series, it’s not like my opinion is going to make much of a difference.  I came across the first book on BookBub, where it’s offered for free as an enticement.   If I did comment on the novel’s extensive flaws, maybe I would be doing some readers some good.

Yes?  No?  Give it up and go write my own stuff?

As always, I welcome your thoughts.

question-mark-clip-art-powerpoint-template

EDIT: I did write the review after all.  Thank you to everyone who has been contributing to the discussion.

4 Comments

Filed under creativity, editing, fantasy, Fiction, frustration, historical fiction, Horror, research, Writing

4 responses to “Reviews: Good News vs Bad News Part Two

  1. There’s much debate among book bloggers whether it is fair to review a book that would call for a negative review. It is a touchy matter.
    Personally, I think that if only positive reviews where ever written, the entire sistem wouldn’t make any sence. I think we should write negative review, especially if we honestly think the book isn’t worth buying and reading.

    I do think even negative reviews should be respectful and useful, though. I’ve read (or rather, I’ve seen, I don’t really read them) lots of two-line one-star review on Amazon. I don’t normally read them because I’ve learned that kind of reviews don’t say anything other than ‘this book is awful, don’t buy it’. Translated, it mean they don’t say anything to me as a reader.
    Then I’ve also read very thoughtful negative reviews that have helped me decide whether to read a book, and I have to say, not all negative reviews dissuaded me from reading a story. If a negative review is properly written, you can normally tell what is just the reviewer’s taste and whether you agree with them or not.

    So yeah, I think we should write also negative reviews. We just have to put the same effort we put in positive review and even more respect that we put in the positive ones.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reviews are useful to some folks, but you have to decide how much time and skull sweat you’re going to put into that, for no pocketable return, rather than putting that effort into your own work. On the other hand, reading bad fiction can teach you a lot about how NOT to do things!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

