50 Years on Planet Earth


by  Lillian Csernica on December 31, 2015

can-stock-photo_csp21237295

At 7:49 p.m. on December 29, 1965, I landed on this planet.

That means that as I go forth into this New Year, I do so having reaching the half-century mark.  I believe it’s traditional when one reaches such a milestone to ponder the wisdom one has accumulated.  The older I get, the more I agree with the lyrics from that Bob Seger song “Against the Wind”:

“I wish I didn’t know now what I didn’t know then.”

(Yes, people probably know that line from the Toby Keith song, but Seger wrote it first.)

Given that I’m old-fashioned and fond of tradition, I hereby present the lessons that life has taught me over and over again.

 

1204571-cartoon-of-a-gravity-causing-an-apple-to-fall-from-a-tree-and-bounce-off-of-sir-isaac-newtons-head-royalty-free-vector-clipartGravity is not our friend.

437877-royalty-free-rf-clip-art-illustration-of-time-flying-byIt’s always later than  you think.

437604-royalty-free-rf-clip-art-illustration-of-a-cartoon-woman-missing-the-target-while-throwing-dartsIf you want to be good at something, you have to practice.  If you want to stay good at something, you have to keep on practicing.  In other words, if you try to rest on your laurels, they will wither and die.

i-dont-have-time-to-hate-people-who-hate-me-because-im-too-busy-loving-people-who-love-me-200x110Hatred is a waste of time and energy.

karma-quotesLiving well really is the best revenge.  For one thing, you’ll probably have a pretty tight alibi.  For another, it’s so much better to leave it up to God/karma/the Tao/et al.  They have infinite resources and a much better knowledge of exactly where to hit the offender.

canstock14569636When it comes to True Love, your mileage may vary.  There is no single trophy, no glittering crystal heart on a 24k pillar.  What is True Love in my eyes might be a total joke in yours.  I write romance novels for a living, so I know about how many ways True Love can show up in your life.  Stop aiming for some Hollywood daydream.  Stop torturing yourself when you think you’ve failed to achieve it.  Just breathe, and pay attention.  True Love might be sitting right next to you.

k17938633When given a choice between mercy and justice, I will choose mercy every time.  Why?  Because I know I don’t know all the details, and I probably never will.  Also, if the day comes when it’s me standing there waiting for the decision to be made by other people, I’ll be begging God to have mercy on me.

k18827602It’s OK for a grown-up to own stuffed toys.

4 Comments

Filed under birthday, charity, dreams, Family, family tradition, Goals, Humor, love, memoirs, perspective, romance, therapy, Uncategorized, worry, Writing

4 responses to “50 Years on Planet Earth

  1. great post Lillian! as it turns out, I also reached the half-century mark last year, with all my warts, bruises, joys and lessons learned. 🙂 and yes, I also collect toys!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mon enfant, you are just getting started.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

