A Special Needs Christmas Carol


by Lillian Csernica on December 15th, 2015

The holiday season has come round again.  It’s a stressful time for any family.  In a household where we already have all the demands of the special needs lifestyle, the additional claims on our time and sanity increase exponentially.

To show my support for all the caregivers who come under the heading of Family, I’ve rewritten The Twelve Days of Christmas to reflect the holiday season from our point of view.

The 12 Days of Christmas

as sung in an ASD household.

tantrum

On the first day of Christmas,

the spectrum gave to me

My child having a hissy.

medbottle

On the second day of Christmas,

the spectrum gave to me

Two late refills

and my child having a hissy.

Basic RGB

On the third day of Christmas

the spectrum gave to me

Three lost toys

Two late refills

and my child having a hissy.

picture1

On the fourth day of Christmas

the spectrum gave to me

Four IEPs

Three lost toys

Two late refills

and my child having a hissy.

stock-photo-flat-tire-of-an-old-car-282937727

On the fifth day of Christmas

the spectrum gave to me

Five bus breakdowns

Four IEPs

Three lost toys

Two late refills

and my child having a hissy.

mark_your_calendar

On the sixth day of Christmas

the spectrum gave to me

Six different meetings

Five bus breakdowns

Four IEPs

Three lost toys

Two late refills

and my child having a hissy.

a_frustrated_secretary_trying_to_answer_multiple_phones_royalty_free_clipart_picture_110517-139598-514053

On the seventh day of Christmas

the spectrum gave to me

Seven calls a-waiting

Six different meetings

Five bus breakdowns

Four IEPs

Three lost toys

Two late refills

And my child having a hissy.

lunapic_134850661095366_2

On the eighth day of Christmas

the spectrum gave to me

Eight aides a-coughing

Seven calls a-waiting

Six different meetings

Five bus breakdowns

Four IEPs

Three lost toys

Two late refills

and my child having a hissy.

stock-vector-tired-cartoon-parents-with-their-children-running-around-them-185352593

On the ninth day of Christmas

the spectrum gave to me

Nine classmates fussing

Eight aides a-coughing

Seven calls a-waiting

Six different meetings

Five bus breakdowns

Four IEPs

Three lost toys

Two late refills

and my child having a hissy.

stock-photo-a-scaterring-of-yellow-goldfish-crackers-284355260

On the tenth day of Christmas

the spectrum gave to me

Ten goldfish crackers

Nine classmates fussing

Eight aides a-coughing

Seven calls a-waiting

Six different meetings

Five bus breakdowns

Four IEPs

Three lost toys

Two late refills

and my child having a hissy.

two_children_crying_while_holding_mothers_hand_royalty_free_clipart_picture_090710-033183-148053

On the eleventh day of Christmas

the spectrum gave to me

Eleven wants repeated

Ten goldfish crackers

Nine classmates fussing

Eight aides a-coughing

Seven calls a-waiting

Six different meetings

Five bus breakdowns

Four IEPs

Three lost toys

Two late refills

and my child having a hissy.

1100

On the twelfth day of Christmas

the spectrum gave to me

Twelve migraines drumming

Eleven wants repeated

Ten goldfish crackers

Nine classmates fussing

Eight aides a-coughing

Seven calls a-waiting

Six different meetings

Five bus breakdowns

Four IEPs

Three lost toys

Two late refills

and my child having a hissy.

merry-christmas-banner-clipart

1 Comment

Filed under autism, Christmas, Depression, doctors, Family, family tradition, frustration, Goals, hospital, housework, Humor, love, marriage, mother, neurodiversity, parenting, special education, Special needs, therapy, worry, Writing

One response to “A Special Needs Christmas Carol

  1. The goldfish crackers sound good to me!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

