The 777 Challenge


by Lillian Csernica on November 17, 2015

k4076915

Michael and I are home again.  Michael is in good shape.  Our stay lasted only 10 days this time.  Now I really really never want to see that hospital again.  Lovely people there, but I don’t want Michael to need their services again.  Given that his Baclofen pump was removed and he seems to be better off without it, I do not anticipate him ever returning.

I am badly in need of some fun, so I’m going to swipe an idea from my dear fellow blogger @jazzfeathers over at This Old Shelter:

The 777 challenge requires you go to Page 7 of your work-in-progress, scroll down to Line 7 and share the next 7 sentences in a blog post. Once you have done this, you can tag 7 other bloggers to do the same with their work-in-progress.

samurai-battle-with-big-shadow-clipart-drawing-gg57045751-98020

These lines come from Garden of Lies, my current work-in-progress which is almost complete.  It’s the second novel in The Flower Maiden Saga.  The first novel is in the hands of my agent.

These were the lesser virtues that supported the four great virtues of Confucian ethics. Tendo repeated these thoughts to himself over and over again while he endured the same boredom and inactivity he’d suffered in the counting house where he’d worked before his exile. He was a man now, a husband and a diplomat. He could not afford the reckless energy of his younger days. It had to be mastered just like a wild horse, its strength harnessed, its temper bridled.

No, Tendo did not consider himself a violent man. However, if Hinomura continued to keep him working so hard he could only dash home for a bath and fresh clothing, Tendo might very well kill something.

Poor Tendo.  A warrior chained to a desk is not a happy man.  On the way home from work that night, he gets attacked by three assassins, so I give him an opportunity for some stress relief samurai-style.

k7656743

Now for the 7 writers I must tag in order to share the fun!

Pat MacEwen @ Fae Forensics

Setsu Uzume @ Katana Pen

Juliette Wade @ TalkToYoUniverse

Kosmogonic

T.E. MacArthur @ The Volcano Lady’s Blog

Melanie Spiller @ Coloratura Consulting

M. Todd Gallowglass

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “The 777 Challenge

  1. So happy to hear Michael has been sprung!! Prayers you don’t have to see the inside of those walls ever again. Hugs! Love the excerpt.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such good news! I’m so happy to hear it 🙂

    And I’m happy to read your challege. I like the passage, though honestly I hadn’t imagine he was talking about desk-work. LOL!!

    I’ve noticed something cool. The seven sentences of the seventh page seem to always make sense. Isn’t it Odd?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad Michael’s doing better….the challenge, however, will have to wait while I convalesce a bit.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

