A Thousand Thanks


by Lillian Csernica on May 26, 2015

Hi there.  I have recovered to the point where I stand a good chance of writing a coherent post here.  The Memorial Day Weekend was spectacular.  Sorry I didn’t manage to blog from the cons as I’d hoped to.  A few items were added to my schedule.  I spent the weekend either speaking before an audience, reading my work aloud, enjoying the company of some truly outstanding people, or trying to scrape together a few hours of sleep.

Sharon Cathcart, Thena MacArthur, and the other folks responsible for Clockwork Alchemy.  What a blast.  When I showed up for the release party for Twelve Hours Later, I had no idea I would be reading my work in front of Harry Turtledove himself.

Jeffrey Cathcart, a gentleman of many talents who is endlessly entertaining.

The team at Artistic Solutions, Inc., responsible for all the marvelous parts of BayCon.  I saw many of my favorite people from the Bay Area con scene, and scored several highly entertaining ribbons for my badge.

Steven Mix saw fit to honor me with a “Mixy,” this gorgeous trophy that consists of three golden stars rising up from the marble base.  When I asked what the award was for, he told me “general awesomeness.”

Justin and Bethany from Dreadfully Punk were kind enough to express their enjoyment of my story “In the Midnight Hour” by giving me a pair of their absolutely marvelous earrings.  Go see what else they have to offer!

Emerian Rich and all the Horror Addicts contributors who turned up for the Horror Addicts BoF.  We had such a good time!

The World’s Tallest Leprechaun.  It’s a good thing I don’t drink, or I would not believe I actually saw him.

The delightful young lady who thanked me in glowing terms for the talk I gave on “Steampunk Alchemy.”  I’m always happy to see the younger generation at cons, and I’m even happier to know the information I provide in my talks is useful to them.

The person who told me he’d heard about The Writer’s Spellbook on another panel about writing techniques.  It gladdens my heart to know all my shameless self-promotion is having an effect!

A big thank you to all the folks who attended the panels, readings, room parties and other events where I appeared or participated.  As far as convention experiences go, this weekend was a personal best for me.  I really think I broke the Fun Barrier!

10 Comments

Filed under Conventions, cosplay, fantasy, Fiction, Goals, history, steampunk

10 responses to “A Thousand Thanks

  1. From the looks of that costume shown last, you’re really getting into the spirit of Captain Nemo and the Nautilus!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sorry we didn’t get to chat or have more time together, but I am so glad you could make it to the party!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It sounds so exciting!
    And reading your work in front of Harry Turtledove!!!! I would have fainted.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Glad it went well for you, Lillian!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: The Best Proof of Success | Hopes and Dreams: My Writing and My Sons

Leave a Reply

