A to Z: Another Year, Another Adventure!


by Lillian Csernica on May 3, 2015

http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/

Time now to look back on the 26 days of reading, writing, thinking and replying.  I’d like to begin by saying thank you to everyone who stopped by my blog.  A special thank you to the folks who hung out with me, added their observations, and made the whole adventure that much more enjoyable:

Alex Hurst

Jazzfeathers at The Old Shelter

Sue Archer at Doorway Between Worlds

Sourcerer

Lori MacLaughlin at Writing, Reading, and the Pursuit of Dreams

Pat MacEwen at Bone Speak

Sanch at Living My Imperfect Life

http://www.flowerpicturegallery.com

What Worked:

1) A crazy topic.  I suppose I could call this “a unique theme.”  I had no idea so many people out there enjoy bad sword & sorcery movies as much as I do.  Now we know about each other, so we can form a support group.  LOL

2) Good graphics.  Some of the movies I chose were rather obscure, which made finding graphics for them more difficult.  That in turn made such content more valuable.  Some of those costumes really have to be seen to be believed!

3) Replying to all comments, even if I just hit “Like” now and then.  Give and take is what it’s all about during the A to Z.  It’s just plain polite, of course, but running around seeing what my new friends were creating made this experience organic and exciting.

4) Links.  Good links, informative links, links that lead somewhere worth the click time!

What Didn’t Work:

1) Not getting enough posts written and scheduled ahead of time. I started off with a week’s worth of posts ready to go.  That kept my head above water until around mid-month when my other writing commitments began pushing the blog posts down the priority list.

2) I couldn’t do justice to these movies in really short posts, so it would have been wiser to plan ahead and budget my time accordingly.  The real pleasure for me in talking about these movies comes from the behind the scenes trivia, the little details about special effects snafus, and the consistency errors.

3) Finding the graphics.  This is a two-edged sword, har har.  It sucked up a lot of time, hunting down the graphics, finding the right sizes, and tinkering with the posts until the layout looked just the way I wanted it to be.

4) Toward the end of the month time got tighter and tighter, so I did not make it as far down the list of participants as I’d hoped to go.  The flip side of that was the problem with several of the links I did visit in the lower 1/4 of the list.  Often the links didn’t lead anywhere, or the blogs hadn’t been updated in ages.  That put a dent in my enthusiasm.

I know people are posting their stats and measuring the traffic on their sites.  I respect that, and I pay attention to those numbers when I’m thinking in terms of business and self-promotion.  The A to Z Blog Challenge is something I do for fun.  Last year my theme was chocolate.  This year, bad sword & sorcery movies.  I’ve made some new friends, found some great resources, and I reached my goal of completing the challenge.

Thank you to Arlee and Alex and all the folks who helped out in the A to Z.  I’ll be back again next year!

13 Comments

Filed under Awards, bad movies, Blog challenges, Family, Goals

13 responses to “A to Z: Another Year, Another Adventure!

  1. Hi! I somehow missed your blog, but found it again through a Reflections shout out, so I’ll be reading back now 🙂 Fun theme! I am glad you enjoyed the challenge. And you are right, it is all about the interactions.
    Cheers!

    @TarkabarkaHolgy from
    Multicolored Diary
    MopDog

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Lillian, I could have written the same refection post! I started with one week worth of posts, I nearly fell behind around mid-month, I spent lot of time on reserching imagines and links. I didn’t make it to visit all the blogs on the list. Something else?
    Oh yeah, next year, I want to start the challenge with all the posts ready to go.

    I have to tell you, when I saw your theme on the reveal post I just couldn’t resist it. I think it was genial! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey, lovely to meet you during AtoZ . I havent written my reflection yet. I had the same problem as you visiting other blogs so I decided to stick with the ones who followed and commented on mine. I hope to try visit some more now I haven’t got the pressure of daily posts.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Alex Hurst

    Thank you for the mention!

    I agree. Between yours and MopDog’s theme, I really just want to go nutty next year with mine and be silly (I’m not silly enough in my life!) Yours was awesome, and made me want to binge watch so many old movies again. 🙂

    I hear you on the graphics portion, too. Luckily, I had realized that ahead of time with my theme (curating the images took FOREVER! I have over 10,000 photos from Japan… it’s a mess, haha!) so I made all the banners first, way back at the end of February.

    Congrats on finishing, and I’m so happy to have made a new blogging buddy in you! ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hello, I have never seen a sword or sorcery movie, so can also say I have never seen a bad one, Lol! I must lead a very sheltered life… the cinemas are quite a long way from our little village, so we tend to wait for movies when they are on TV. And then forget to watch them… Hope to see you on the next one! Liz http://www.lizbrownleepoet.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi there! So nice to meet you. I can’t imagine living where I couldn’t get to the movie theater. I love movies too much for that. Thanks for the visit!

      Like

  6. I always enjoy a little snark – yours, mine, and others’!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Finally found time to visit, having read Sarah at The Old Shelter’s recommendation. Going to have to work through the posts as I fear that I’ve seen most of those movies!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I was definitely guilty of What Didn’t Work 1. I don’t even have the “I was busy excuse”, just laziness. O.o

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

