RadCon Road Trip Report Part Two


by Lillian Csernica on February 19th, 2015

Compass

Yes, Saturday night at RadCon was quite the adventure.  I suppose I really should mention that while Pat and I stayed at the Best Western, the actual venue for the con was the Red Lion Inn.  There were three wings, to say nothing of all the dedicated convention space on the far side of the hotel.  Wing 2 was the center of the action, with this really long hallway that wrapped around to the left and held a steady stream of congoers, pros, people with little tables, the anime room(s), and at least one elevator.  There were stairs, of course.  On Friday I kept getting lost.  On Saturday I could navigate Wings 1 and 2.  By Sunday I still hadn’t figured out Wing 3.  I’m convinced the signs were just clever decoys to conceal the dimensional warp required for access to Wing 3.

Fantastic Stories Super Pack #1

Now for a word on the perils of Shameless Self-Promotion.  Much to my delight, I have a story in Fantastic Stories Presents: Fantasy Super Pack #1.  It’s a hefty book, 750 pages worth, including several of the Biggest Names in the genre.  I had one of my contributor copies with me.  I’d also brought along my copy of Hero’s Best Friend: An Anthology of Animal Companions.  It’s a trade paperback with a gorgeous cover and a respectable weight of stories.  Trouble was, carrying both of these books around in my tote bag all day had begun to make my arms ache.  What price fame, right?  I do have copies of the covers of my ebooks, color printed and laminated.  Those are much easier to carry with me.

By the time Pat and I returned to our hotel room, we’d been going strong for 16 hours.  It was time for my favorite pajamas and another viewing of “The 5th Element.”  I’ve never actually watched the first half.  Looks like I still haven’t.  Pat tells me I dozed off in my chair.  She managed to get me conscious enough to stagger off to bed.  Pat is quite a brave soul.  She’s one of the few people who know they can wake me up without risking life and limb.

pulllist.comixology.com

Shopping for souvenirs in the Dealers’ Room.  Yes, it’s true.  I was so busy at this con I had to schedule time to spend money.  It wasn’t as easy as it sounds.  There was the Dealer’s Room, way over on one side of the lobby, and then over in Wing 1 or Wing 2 there was this hallway full of hotel rooms that had been converted into a Dealer’s Room mini-mall.  Yes, this was one of those times when I got lost.  Twice.  I came out of one hotel room and turned the wrong way.  (Does anybody remember the hotel where they held SiliCon and the hotel rooms were in these rows of white military bunkers?  You couldn’t tell if you were coming or going.  It all looked alike.)  Even so, I bought John one Batman and one Rocket Raccoon item, then I picked up a steampunk CD for Michael.

As the con wound down on Sunday, Pat and I spent some quality time in the Green Room saying hello and goodbye to many of the wonderful people we’d met.  We were lucky enough to be able to honor what’s become an end-of-the-con tradition for us, which is having dinner with G. David Nordley and his lovely wife Gayle.  Time came for us to hit the road.  We drove halfway across Oregon, then got a motel room for the night.  Sounds like the opening like of a novel!

Monday was full of strange and wonderful events:

allrecipes.com

Out of town by noon. Stopped much later for a fabulous lunch.  Chili, cornbread, hush puppies, coleslaw, lemonade.

Shasta by daylight.

Pat picked up a Patricia Cornwell audiobook, The Bone Bed.  I like mysteries, so I’d been looking forward to listening to the story.  Not only was the writing surprisingly bad, no body appeared until Chapter 17 or so.  There’s the medical examiner, Kay Scarpetta.  There’s a paleontologist who disappeared.  A rich man is in jail because his wife was missing and a charge of murder had been brought against him.  Then there’s the marine biologist who goes ballistic over a giant sea turtle snarled in fishing lines which also happen to ensnare a third unidentified body.  Pat spotted errors in the medical examiner’s procedures, the handling of the giant sea turtle, and the marine biologist’s behavior toward Kay Scarpetta.  The audiobook consists of eight CDs.  We suffered through four before we couldn’t take it anymore.  It didn’t help matters when the voice actress reading the book kept mispronouncing common words.  Oy!

Got home at 1:30 a.m.  Pat still had to drive to Stockton.  Caffeine is our friend!

6 Comments

Filed under cats, Conventions, fantasy, Fiction, Food, Goals, Humor, science fiction, Writing

6 responses to “RadCon Road Trip Report Part Two

  1. Sounds like a great trip, especially the 4th dimensional stairs… now there’s an idea for a story…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like a great trip! Congratulations on your stories being included in what sound like great anthologies.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The Best Proof of Success | Hopes and Dreams: My Writing and My Sons

  4. Pingback: R is for Road Trip | Hopes and Dreams: My Writing and My Sons

Leave a Reply

