Reasons For Writing Romance


My favorite color is lavender. Otherwise, I agree completely. 😀

Happy Authors Guild

So you think you want to write and you’re thinking Booker Prize rather than a RITA (awarded for excellence in romantic fiction), so why would you want to write romance? It’s pink on the colour spectrum, the candy floss of confectionary and Benidorm of holiday destinations. It receives little or no respect.

I initially chose to write romance for practical reasons – because there are publishers out there actively seeking authors such as Harlequin Mills and Boon. Their competition ‘So You Think You Can Write’ (SYTYCW) is currently under way. I am a big fan of this competition and have learned so much form both participating and observing. I can’t think of any other genre where editors offer so much help and support to new authors.

But the reason I continue to write romance is not purely for practicality. As I slowly learn the craft, I have found it to…

View original post 243 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

