My First Sale — It’s Alive! It’s Alive!


by Lillian Csernica on March 16, 2014

 

That’s right.  The first short story I ever sold, “Fallen Idol,” is alive and well and available for your listening pleasure at Tales to Terrify.  I first sold this story to After Hours, edited by William G. Raley.  He called me up one night to tell me he wanted to buy my story.  What’s more, he created one of the most memorable moments of my writing career when he said, “This is weird even by our standards.”

 

Thanks to that acceptance, I could later submit “Fallen Idol” to The Year’s Best Horror Stories XXI, edited by Karl Edward Wagner, may he rest in peace.  Karl accepted my story, allowing me to appear on a Table of Contents that included Ramsey Campbell, Ed Gorman, and other greats of the field.

Like any good horror story, “Fallen Idol” continues to rise from the depths as a Reprint Revenant.  My sincere thanks to Pete Fallico, narrator for my story, and all the folks at Tales to Terrify.

Leave a comment

Filed under Awards, fantasy, Fiction, Goals, Halloween, Horror, Self-image, Writing

Leave a Reply

