Zena Shapter: She Deserves Your Attention


by Lillian Csernica on January 9, 2014

I review horror and dark fiction for Tangent Online.  Tangent’s annual Recommended Reading List just came out.  Due to an unfortunate matter of timing, one recommendation I really wanted to make did not get included on the list.  I can’t let this story or this writer go unrecognized, so here’s my Addendum to the Recommended Reading List:

“Darker” by Zena Shapter in Midnight Echo #10, November 2013. H* (LC)

For those of you unfamiliar with Tangent’s coding system, let me explain what this means.  H is the category, Horror.  The asterisk is the equivalent of a One Star rating.  I have a reputation as a demanding reviewer.  That’s perfectly true.  In all the time I’ve been reviewing for Tangent, I have given out less than five stars total.  I want to read good stories.  When I come across one that fills me with the kind of excitement and suspense and pure pleasure that made me want to become a writer, I want people to know about that story.

Go read “Darker.”  Go read more of Zena Shapter’s work.  Go like her page on Facebook.  You’ll be glad you did.

2 Comments

Filed under Awards, fantasy, Fiction, Horror, Uncategorized, Writing

2 responses to “Zena Shapter: She Deserves Your Attention

  1. Pingback: Wow – I Have A Star Review!! « Zena Shapter

  2. Pingback: Ditmar Award Nominee = me!! « Zena Shapter

Leave a Reply

