Saints and Angels


by Lillian Csernica on June 12, 2013

FIVE PEOPLE WHO MATTER (in no particular order):

Our San Andreas Regional Center Caseworker (all four of the individual people who held the position).  This person has done so much for Michael and John, seeing to it Michael has nursing care and John has his helpers, making sure I’m coping with my depression and getting the help I need, and in general being a clearing house of information and connections that have made my family’s life stronger, safer, healthier, and more enjoyable.

My parish priest.  I don’t see him as often as either of us would like, but every time I do show up, he’s always happy to see me and ready to listen.

The Registered Nurse.  I speak not of one particular woman, but of the concept that encompasses them all.  Throughout my entire life, not just during the years since I’ve had sons who need serious medical attention, there have been R.N.s.  I still correspond with a Marine Corps R.N. who took care of me when I was only ten years old.  On the night I lost my first son, there was an R.N. who refused to put the fetal heart monitor on me when my doctor told her to because she thought it was too cruel to make me listen to the end of my baby’s life.  Michael’s primary R.N. came to his christening.  The whole NICU team welcomed John during his brief stay there, rejoicing with us over his good birth weight and satisfactory APGAR scores.  There are a whole lot of reasons why Registered Nurses, LVNs, and CNAs are referred to as “angels of mercy.”  Please, PAY THEM MORE!

My best friend Pat.  I’d be in much worse shape by now if I didn’t have her to run away with to SF conventions and girls’ nights out and online chats.  When we moved into our previous house, Pat came over and stayed for three days to help us settle in.  When I’ve faced some major crises, Pat’s been there, with chocolate and patience and endless stories about her relatives.  Turns out Pat and I are distant cousins through a shared relative.  When we tell people we’re cousins, for some reason that makes them nervous.  Given my Pat’s specialties and my own, we do make a rather formidable combination!

The postal carrier at my previous house, who became my partner in holiday magic.  Linda coordinated my work volunteering to answer the letters to Santa Claus in our town.  I take the job very seriously, using festive letterhead and plenty of fun holiday stickers and glitter and whatever else seems appropriate.  When I moved into this house last December, I asked the postmaster if I could go on being the volunteer for that town.  Thanks to Linda rallying her co-workers, the main post offices of the four small towns in the mountain valley where I live now channel all the Santa letters to me.  I answered over two dozen letters last Christmas.  My love of fantasy makes me a firm believer in preserving the magic of childhood.  As a mother I know children grow up much too quickly these days, due in part to the wonders of social media.

If you’re interested in volunteering, the Post Office provides a starter kit with a letter template.  Most branches would love to have volunteers and are eager to pitch in with letterhead and envelopes and stickers.  The Post Office covers all the relevant postage, of course.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog challenges, Depression, Family, fantasy, Fiction, Humor, Special needs, Writing

Leave a Reply

