No Safety Net


by Lillian Csernica on June 1, 2013

Hi there.  It’s just me today.  The May challenge has ended, so here I am working on my own, no theme or prompt or other lifeline to keep me from tumbling off the subject into some chaotic abyss of random thoughts.

Went to see “Iron Man 3” today with John.  You haven’t lived until you’ve gone to see a superhero movie that has full bore CGI SFX in the company of an autistic teenager who wants to go into digital animation for a career.  There are several excellent twists and turns in the movie.  I had a great time, and I know John did too.  The one problem with taking John to the movies: he gets too involved in the story.  He really feels for the characters, so I have to explain to him all over again about stunt doubles and special camera angles and how nobody is really getting blown up or falling out of the airplane or being attacked by a giant squid, etc. etc.   I hate to ruin John’s suspension of disbelief, but that’s better than what happened today.

There we were, in the back row of a relatively small theater.  John has a bad habit of commenting on everything, which I’ve tried repeatedly to deal with at home.  He knows he has to be quiet in church, at the library, and when we go to movies.  Are you familiar with the term “a stage whisper”?  Uh huh.  And the more I hush John, the more intense he’ll get if it’s something really important to him.  He got all worried about Pepper, Iron Man‘s girlfriend, at one point.  I had to let him whisper straight into my ear so we wouldn’t bother the other people in the theater.  It was just one sentence, but he was absolutely determined to tell me.  Fortunately, I had enough light from the movie screen to recognize his expression and realize this was something really important to him, so I listened.

My husband has no idea what he’s missing.  Literally.  He doesn’t see John at home much except on the weekends, and even then Chris is usually reading a book or playing his videogames.  It’s up to me to handle the reinforcement of John’s understanding about what’s real and what isn’t.  If that isn’t hilarious, I don’t know what is.  I mean, think about it.  What do I do for a living?  I write fantasy.  I write romance.  I make my living escaping from everyday life.  I suppose that means I have to keep an even tighter grip on my own sense of reality.  Some days that can be hard.

Today I was happy to throw reality to the wind for two hours and have a good time jumping and cheering and laughing and gasping at all the wonders of “Iron Man 3.”  John and I know what it’s like to live in our dreams, to share them with each other, and I wouldn’t give that up for anything in the world.

2 Comments

Filed under Family, fantasy, Fiction, Humor, Special needs, Writing

2 responses to “No Safety Net

  1. Sounds like you both enjoyed the movie. I saw it a couple weeks ago and it was awesome. =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

