The Soundtrack of My Life


by Lillian Csernica on May 30, 2013

27408-blogeverday

Day 29: Five songs or pieces of music that speak to you or bring back memories.

Music is very important to writers.  Many well-known writers have commented on what kind of music they like to listen to while writing.  For some it’s classical.  For others it’s rock and roll.  Me, I like taoki drumming or classical Spanish guitar, unless I’m in one of those states of mind where I dig out my old Def Leppard or W.A.S.P. cassettes from my high school days.  (Hey, what was I supposed to do?  I hadn’t been diagnosed yet and I wasn’t about to use recreational drugs to treat my depression.)  Here then are the songs that embody the recurrent themes that have appear in my internal narrative, so to speak.

1. “Anxiety” by Pat Benatar

I’m an adult child of an alcoholic, so I learned all about anxiety from an early age.  Joining the Speech and Debate Team in high school meant learning to overcome most people’s worst fear, public speaking.  Becoming the mother of two special needs sons took me to a whole new plane of anxiety.  So the funny part about this video is that going to the dentist doesn’t bother me at all.

2. “Don’t Let It Show” by Pat Benatar

“Never let ’em see you sweat,” right?

3. “Lonely in Your Nightmare” by Duran Duran

This pretty much sums up my love life from ages fourteen to nineteen.  I was a serious fan girl for Duran Duran back in the ’80s.  I even had a laser disc of all their music videos.  Much good that did me, since the technology for it became obsolete almost as soon as it was available to the public.

4. “I Need a Hero” by Bonnie Tyler

Oh yeah, when I hit what my mother called my “boy crazy” days, I was looking for my white knight in black leather.  More irony here, now that this song applies to my work in writing romance.  I do have my Japanese hero, Tendo Kazuhiro, so I won’t have to go looking for a new hero for the next new book, at least not until I finish the Japanese trilogy.

5. “Everybody’s Broken” by Bon Jovi

Married life is tough. Fifty per cent of marriages fail between years three and five.  Those are the stats for normal people who face the usual pressures of money and work and in-laws and kids and their unique difficulties.  It’s even tougher when you suddenly find yourselves stuck in the middle of the nightmare of losing your first baby.  That right there is enough to end a lot of marriages.  When your next child has a really hard time of it, and Lucky #3 turns out to have his share of grief as well, I’m here to tell you it seems like God just isn’t going to cut you a break.  I was really happy when Richie Sambora and Jon Bon Jovi were inducted into the Songwriters’ Hall of Fame.  They deserve it.  I’ve been a serious fan of Bon Jovi since their early days. taking comfort in their music and their lyrics during the good days and the bad.

6. “Come Sail Away” by Styx

I write fantasy.  I write it to escape the hardships of my own life as much as I write it to provide escapism for my readers.  The imagery in this song is so wonderful.  It gives me that feeling of soaring off toward some happier place with my hair blowing back and my eyes on the glowing horizon.

7. “Don’t Wait for Heroes” by Dennis DeYoung

Here’s an anthem for all of us who have felt powerless and hopeless and beaten by life.  That this song is on the same list with “I Need a Hero” shows my progress from the days when I lived my life expecting some man to rescue me.  I can take care of myself.  I can be the hero I need.  I can be the hero my sons need.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog challenges, Depression, Family, fantasy, Fiction, Special needs, Uncategorized, Writing

Leave a Reply

