Two Kinds Of Pain


by Lillian Csernica on May 27, 2013

27408-blogeverday

I spent Saturday and Sunday at BayCon, so I’m afraid I’m running a bit behind again.  Time now to catch up, then I’ll handle today’s prompt in a separate post.

 Day 25: Something someone told you about yourself that you’ll never forget (good or bad)

I don’t drive.  I can drive, I have a valid, current license, and I’ve taken classes to make sure I’m up on the latest laws and related matters.  I do not have my own car, and I do not like to drive.  Maybe it has to do with that car accident that killed me.  Maybe it has to do with how wary I am of the really bad drivers that come through the mountains especially during tourist season.  Whatever the cause, the result is that I have to find someone to take me to appointments, classes, meetings, etc.  Yes, I’ve taken buses and ridden trains.  Once in a while I’ve had to take a taxi.  When I take Michael to a local appointment, we ride MetroParacruz which provides door to door service to the elderly and disabled.

One of the people in my extended family who almost never has to take me places told me one day that because I don’t drive, I am a burden.  This person went on at length about how selfish and self-centered and lazy I am because I expect other people to drive me around.  I could get into the other issues that built up to this particular conversation, but that’s not germane to the prompt.  I was told I am a burden.  That hurt.  The idea that I have no gratitude or consideration for the people who help me also hurt.  This pain has made it much harder for me to ask for help when I need it, not just with driving but with a number of other situations.Day 26: Something you read online. Leave a link and discuss, if you’d like.

I’ve been reading The Haunted Mansion Project Year One, presented by Rain Graves and edited by E.S. Magill.  I love a good ghost story.  I think I’ve scoured Netflix for everything worth watching in both Western European and Asian cultures.  It’s one of my hobbies and/or occupational hazards to take an interest in paranormal investigations.  Again and again I find myself asking the question, “What on earth made those people think it was a good idea to spend the night in an abandoned insane asylum?”  So here’s my link:

Most Famous and Notorious Abandoned and Haunted Insane Asylums in History

Rule One for bad horror movies is “Don’t go into the basement with nothing but a lit candle,” right?  Think about it.  To actively seek out the turbulent psychic forces that have soaked into the physical and etheric structure of asylums that existed when really horrible things were done to people who were mentally ill, disabled in some way, or just inconvenient for families heartless enough to dump them in such places.  That’s not just asking for trouble, that’s backing up the U-Haul truck and begging somebody to pack it full.  Doesn’t matter if the haunting is residual or intelligent or active.  Going into such a place after dark is A BAD IDEA.

I welcome your comments, your debate, your experiences.

Would you go along on one of these expeditions?  Why or why not?

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog challenges, Depression, fantasy, Horror, Special needs, Writing

Leave a Reply

