Dear Sir/Madam


by Lillian Csernica on May 27, 2013

27408-blogeverday

Day 27: A letter to your readers

Dear Folks Kind Enough to Read What I Write Here,

This reminds me of acting on stage.  You know the audience is out there, just past the bright lights.  You can’t see them because from the stage the audience is one vast darkness, the number of people in it unknown.  Granted, I can read my stats and find out how many of you there are, but that’s not the same as being able to see your reactions to my work.  I can hear you, much like an actor can, in terms of the comments you make.  So blogging is an act of faith, a partnership.  You join my audience to see today’s show, and I do my best to put on a good show for you.

To those of you who are special needs parents, I offer my hopes and prayers for the health, strength, and success of your children.  For you I offer a shoulder to cry on, someone to talk to, and all the resources I’m aware of.  Our lives are hard lives.  It takes a special needs parent to have anything like a clue about the life of another  special needs parent.  I was at BayCon this weekend and got into conversation with someone in the Con Suite.  We’d been talking for a good hour before he made mention of his daughter and her diagnosis.  Suddenly there I was, talking to another member of our tribe.  We never know where we’ll meet, do we?  There’s always comfort in the meeting.  We recognize each other.  We suddenly understand volumes about that other parent’s life.  Common ground, shared experience, that sense of support.

To the writers who are listening, I offer my thanks and my appreciation.  It takes a writer to understand a writer.  That can get a little strange when a horror writer is talking to a romance writer (I’ve been on both ends of that conversation!), but both writers know how it is to carve out time for writing, to wait anxiously for editorial decisions, to keep the flame burning when it seems like there just ain’t no more oil in the lamp.  I wonder if social media has helped some of us writers find the comfort and support that past generations have had to seek in alcohol or drugs or other unhealthy pursuits.  It would be interesting to see the comparative statistics, but that would be a staggering pile of data to assemble and analyze.

To those of you I don’t know well yet, I look forward to your comments and your blog posts.  My Reader is always full of wonderful and entertaining and thought-provoking material.

With warmest regards,

Lillian

2 Comments

Filed under Blog challenges, Family, fantasy, Fiction, Horror, Special needs, Uncategorized, Writing

2 responses to “Dear Sir/Madam

  1. I’m ao glad I found your blog. I was scrolling through the A to Z sign up list, hoping to visit a handful more of the blogs I missed during the overwhelming month of April. I see that you are participating in yet, another “write every day”, blogfest. You have my most sincere admiration. I was so worn out and behind in every other area of my life that I was on the verge of a full blown panic attack. I will check back later. I hope to get to know you better. I am also the mother of a child (well she is a teen now) with special needs. Blake is deaf. I look forward to reading more on your blog. I love your heartfelt, genuine thank you letter to your readers. Very cool.

    Like

Leave a Reply

