Caption This!


by Lillian Csernica on May 17, 2013

27408-blogeverday

Day 17: A favorite photo of yourself and why

Yes, that’s me.  Yes, that is a giant stuffed toy frog dressed in white lingerie.

How did we meet, you ask?  Late one night at a BayCon long, long ago, I couldn’t sleep, so I went down to the hotel restaurant (which actually stayed open until 2 a.m. for us that year), got myself a snack, and then hit the party floor to see if anything was still happening.  I wandered into a room party held by Clan MacDude and there I discovered this frog.  If you look closely you’ll see there’s a notebook on a string around the frog’s neck.  Partygoers were invited to add to the ongoing narrative in the notebook.  I read what had already been written, which forced me to wonder just what chemical intoxicants had inspired those previous writers.  Me, I never touch the stuff.  I made my contribution and prepared to go on my way.  (Much later, the Patriarch of Clan MacDude insisted on having me join the Clan.  The men wore kilts made from Hawaiian print fabric.  As you can see, I am in full Hilo Hattie regalia, purchased on my one trip to Maui.)  This photo was taken the next day.  Let the record show that of all the scribblings in the notebook, mine was by far one of the most legible.  This is ironic, because when I was inducted into the Clan, I was given the name Scribbler MacDude.

Pen and pencil

5 Comments

Filed under Blog challenges, fantasy, Fiction, Humor, Writing

5 responses to “Caption This!

  1. LOL That is a cute story and cute picture.

    Like

  2. robbear13

    Patricia is right — cute. Awesome, even, that you would get that close to a frog that big. Caption: “Should I kiss this frog?” Sorry; best I can do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

