It’s an Office, not a Closet


by Lillian Csernica on May 13, 2013

27408-blogeverday

Day 13: Issue a public apology. This can be as funny or as serious or as creative as you want it to be.

I’d like to apologize to my office.

I’m a very visual person.  Out of sight is out of mind with me.  That means I have lots of different kinds of items all over the place, because if I put them away I will forget where they are.

My sister helped me reorganize the office I had before we moved into this new house.  I took it one wall at a time and kept, gave away, “repurposed,” or threw out every item I came across.  It’s very difficult to  part with some of your clutter, especially when that clutter represents some person or event that still holds a great deal of emotional energy in your mind.  The good news is, once you weed things out, you reclaim that energy and can put it to new use.

So again, I apologize to my office.  I’m sorry for the boxes of family photos that need to be organized into albums.

I apologize to all the Post-It notes and little memos and used envelopes and whatever else I’ve scribbled ideas and phone number and directions and To Do lists on.

I apologize to all the magnets my mother keeps giving me because I just do not have the room on my filing cabinet or on my fridge.

I apologize to all the notebooks and hardback journals and personal dayrunner/timekeeper/nanny binders I own.

I apologize to all the books waiting in the garage for shelf space in my now-smaller office.

I apologize to the bulletin board and the white board that once helped me keep track of submissions and other business-related material.

I apologize to the floor.  We had a brief acquaintance, and now it’s largely hidden under boxes and stacks of books and the furniture.  Once I get the floor rug in here, I may never see the actual floor again until circumstances force me to excavate.

Clutter is not good for the writer’s mind.  Theosophy teaches that items such as books and magazines generate thought-forms, so you shouldn’t keep them near your bed because their energy will keep your mind awake and moving rather than quiet and asleep.  Clutter blocks the flow of chi.  Clutter stands between us and getting to the place, item, space that we want.  Clutter is congestion.  I apologize to my office for behaving in the manner of an allergen.  Time to get out the mental antihistamine and clear the way!

5 Comments

Filed under Blog challenges, Fiction, Humor, Writing

5 responses to “It’s an Office, not a Closet

  1. rebeccadouglass

    *Snort* Count me in on apologizing to the office. And the kitchen counter.

    Like

  2. I think I need to apologize to my kitchen. It’s a mess. One of these days I will tidy it up… after a bit of writing. 😉

    Like

    • rebeccadouglass

      Yeah. . . not surprisingly, when I decided to get serious about writing, my already pathetic housekeeping took a total nose-dive. My spouse keeps the cooking parts of the kitchen from being a total petri dish for new super-bugs, but paper-piling has gone over the top.

      Like

    • There you go! Write first, cook later. Life’s too short to wash dishes every day!

      Like

Leave a Reply

