How to Make Writing Progress Every Day


by Lillian Csernica on March 28, 2013

As the mother of two special needs teenage boys, there are many days when I am just not in the mood to write.  I’m too tired, I’m too stressed, I’ve had to be out at appointments or making phone calls or sorting out scheduling problems with the nurses and aides.  All I want to do is flop down on the couch with a bag of microwave popcorn and let my higher brain functions take a vacation while I watch some trashy action movie on Netflix.

That doesn’t get the day’s writing done.

How do I get myself to churn out the day’s writing regardless of mental fatigue, emotional turbulence, and family demands?  I keep two lists:  Process Goals and Productivity Goals.

Process Goal: This is an activity that will contribute to the overall completion of a particular writing project.  I have a new short story underway.  I brainstorm more plot complications to see if I can raise the stakes and make the story more exciting with greater suspense.

Productivity Goal:  This is the write-the-actual-words goal.  A thousand a day?  Two thousand?  If I want to get a five thousand word short story written in first draft form in one week’s time, then I have to hit my target of a thousand words per day.  If I write more, great!

There is always something I can accomplish, no matter what my frame of mind might be.  If I want to be successful as a writer, both on the personal and the professional levels, then I have to get the story or novel written, clean it up, and get it out to market.  If I keep my sights set on today, I won’t feel so overwhelmed.  Today plus today plus today adds up.  A thousand words per day five days a week for twenty weeks or five months equals one hundred thousand words, which is a four hundred page novel.

Keeping those lists of Process goals and Productivity goals is my way of making sure that no matter what kind of mood I’m in, there will be something I can muster up the motivation to accomplish.  Once I’ve overcome the inertia of not being “in the mood,” I can build some momentum and get the work done.

8 Comments

Filed under Family, fantasy, Fiction, Writing

8 responses to “How to Make Writing Progress Every Day

  1. When I’m on a project, I set a goal of a measly 250 words a day. I can force that much out, no matter what’s going on in my life or in my head. Once I get that much done, I can generally do more. If I can’t do 250 words, well, that’s not enough of a failure to get depressed about. Whatever works, right? 🙂

    Like

  2. The division between process and productivity goals feels like a great distinction to make.

    Like

  3. Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed!

    Extremely helpful info specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such info much.
    I was looking for this certain information for a long time.
    Thank you and best of luck.

    Like

  4. You need to be a part of a contest for one of the greatest sites on the web.

    I will highly recommend this website!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Writing Progress through March | Sherrie's Scriptorium

  6. Pingback: Get Writing – Goals Redefined | A Writer Inspired

  7. Pingback: Get Writing – Goals Redefined | A Writer Inspired

Leave a Reply

