Reinventing my personal space


by Lillian Csernica on March 12, 2013

Three months ago my husband and I bought a house and moved in.  What did I unpack first?  The manuscript, notes, notebooks, and other miscellanea involved in my current novel.  Then I went into the garage and began the excavation required to locate the boxes that contained my Japanese reference library (the novel is set in Satsuma, Japan, 1867).  Next came my favorite fiction, one whole shelf devoted to Terry Pratchett‘s Discworld books and another to Janet Evanovich‘s Stephanie Plum series and another to Jim Butcher‘s Dresden Files.  I find these series to be inspirational.  Not only is the quality of the writing great for recharging my word batteries, seeing the commitment those authors have made to producing novel after novel after novel gives me concrete motivation to do the same.  I’m still looking for the boxes that hold my collection of ghost story anthologies.  I love a good ghost story, especially from turn of the century authors such as A.M. Burrage and Marjorie Bowen.  I’ll find them.

The point here is simple.  Underwear and a toothbrush and caffeine and those other daily necessities can be acquired easily enough.  The exterior space you live in affects your interior life.  I now own the space I live in, both outside and in.  I must take care to avoid unnecessary clutter.  I must surround myself with all that is positive, nourishing, and uplifting, sights and sounds and smells and textures that will support me as I labor through each day, writing the fireworks and sword fights and love scenes as well as helping John with his homework and listening to Michael struggle to tell me about his day.

Beware unwanted clutter.  Beware even more so unloved clutter that stirs up bad memories.  Feng shui says such clutter gets between you and what you really want, slowing you down and sucking away your energy and sabotaging your dreams.  I still have boxes to unpack and tchotchkes to deal with, but I shall be ruthless in the defense of the spaces where I dream, both in my office and in my heart.

10 Comments

Filed under Family, fantasy, Fiction, Uncategorized, Writing

10 responses to “Reinventing my personal space

  1. There’s nothing like having a space, however small, to call your own and to arrange in accordance with the needs of your heart and Muse. Have fun with the Japan books!

    Like

  2. It is truly a great and useful piece of info. I’m glad that you simply shared this useful information with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board
    and I find It really useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something back
    and help others like you aided me.

    Like

  4. This piece of writing offers clear idea designed for the new viewers of blogging, that genuinely how to do blogging and site-building.

    Like

  5. I blog frequently and I truly appreciate your content.
    The article has really peaked my interest. I’m going to take a note of your blog and keep checking for new information about once a week. I subscribed to your Feed too.

    Like

  6. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked submit my
    comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that
    over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

    Like

  7. Hey there would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m
    planning to start my own blog soon but I’m having a tough time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely
    unique. P.S Apologies for being off-topic but
    I had to ask!

    Like

  8. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this blog. It’s simple, yet effective.
    A lot of times it’s very difficult to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and appearance. I must say you’ve done a very good job with
    this. Also, the blog loads extremely quick for me on Chrome.
    Outstanding Blog!

    Like

  9. Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is fundamental and everything. But just imagine
    if you added some great images or videos to give your posts more, “pop”!

    Your content is excellent but with pics and videos, this
    site could certainly be one of the greatest in its niche.
    Great blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

